Technion’s Herman Wolosker named IMHRO Rising Star

Assoc. Prof. Herman Wolosker from the Rappaport Faculty of Medicine received the 2010 IMHRO (International Mental Health Research Organization) Rising Star Award for his proposed research on “Novel Strategies to ameliorate NMDA receptor hypofunction in Schizophrenia: Focus on D-Serine homeostasis.” Wolosker is one of three Rising Star awardees this year.

Wolosker joined Technion in 2001.

Andrea Prader Prize to Technion Professor

Assoc. Prof. Ze’ev Hochberg from the Rappaport Faculty of Medicine received the 2010 Andrea Prader Prize . This is an annual Leadership Award given to a member of the European Society for Pediatric Endocrinology (ESPE). It is the most prestigious ESPE senior award and was created to honor lifetime achievement in teaching and research, as well as to recognize outstanding leadership and overall contribution to the field of pediatric endocrinology.

Hochberg is Director of Pediatric Endocrinology at Meyer Children’s Hospital at the Rambam Heath Care Campus. His research interests include mechanisms of child growth, growth hormone and its receptor, bone and calcium metabolism and the adipose tissue. Hochberg has an active interest in Pediatric Endocrinology education in developing countries, and he chairs the European program on that matter.

Medal to Prof. Nimrod Moiseyev

Prof. Nimrod Moiseyev of the Schulich Faculty of Chemistry received the 2010 Medal of CMOA in recognition of his contributions to the development of non-Hermitian quantum mechanics.

The Medal was awarded by QSCP (annual international conferences in Quantum Systems in Chemistry and Physics) during their recent meeting held at the University of Cambridge.

The medal is named CMOA to honor a now defunct, French academic society (Centre de Mécanique Ondulatoire Appliquée ) founded in 1962.

Prof. Moiseyev is the incumbent of the Bertha Hertz Axel Chair in Chemistry, and he heads the Institute for Advanced Studies in Theoretical Chemistry.

Michael Bruno Award to Prof. Yonina Eldar

Prof. Yonina Eldar from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering has been awarded the Michael Bruno Memorial Award for 2010.

The Michael Bruno Memorial Awards are granted by the Rothschild Foundation (Yad Hanadiv)each year to Israeli scholars and scientists of truly exceptional promise, whose achievements to date provide hope for future breakthroughs in their respective fields. Candidates must be under the age of 50. Their selection is based, in part, on evaluations provided by world-leading scientists in their fields.

Go To Full Story

EMET Prize to Prof. Moussa Youdim


Prof. Emeritus Moussa Youdim wins the 2010 EMET Prize for Brain Science in the category of Life Sciences.

The EMET Prize is an annual award given for excellence in academic and professional achievements that have far reaching influence and significant contribution to society. The Prizes, that total $1 million, are sponsored by the A.M.N. Foundation for the Advancement of Science, Art and Culture in Israel , under the auspices of and in cooperation with the Prime Minister of Israel.

Youdim joined the Technion’s Rappaport Faculty of Medicine to chair the Department of Pharmacology from its inception in 1977, and held this position until 1994. Prof. Youdim is currently Director of the Eve Topf and US National Parkinson Foundation Centers of Excellence for Neurodegenerative Diseases Research and Teaching.

Go To Full Story

Former Technion president elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Prof. Yitzhak Apeloig of the Schulich Faculty of Chemistry was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Apeloig, who served as president of Technion between 2001 and 2009, thus joins one of the world’s most prestigious honorary societies. Other Technion faculty who are Foreign Honorary Members of the Academy include Distinguished Profs. Aaron Ciechanover and Avram Hershko and Distinguished Prof. Emeritus Jacob Ziv

Go To Full Story

Prize Matter

Prof. Dov Levine of the Faculty of Physics has been awarded the 2010 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize of the American Physical Society, “For pioneering contributions to the theory of quasicrystals, including the prediction of their diffraction pattern.” The annual Buckley prize recognizes outstanding theoretical or experimental contributions to condensed matter physics, and is considered the most prestigious award in the field. Endowed in 1952 by AT&T Bell Laboratories (now Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies), the prize is named in memory of Oliver E. Buckley, an influential president of Bell Labs.

Go Full To Story